The Castle at East Cowes in the Isle of Wight was built by architect John Nash in 1800 and he lived there until his death in 1835.
It was built with unlimited expense within two years and he was buried in the grounds of the castle. The castle was said to be very opulent and featured all things that were considered to be essential to upper society at the time. It featured plush bed chambers, stacked libraries, coach houses, drawing rooms, dining rooms and coach houses.
There were also detached residences within the beautifully designed gardens to accommodate guests who were visiting and staying on the premises. The castle also had eight guns which were fired from the towers and battlements in Royal Salutes when Queen Victoria and her family arrived and departed.
Today, the impressive Gothic structure stands no more and visitors can only see the gatehouse, North Lodge and the original ice-house which are still on site.
The clock was removed from the original structure and is now an exhibit at the Castle Museum in Carisbrooke.
The castle was built in the period style of the reign of Edward VI and had a very Gothic look about it, with ornate castellation, turrets, towers and walls.
When Nash died, the property was bought by the Earl of Shannon before being sold to politician George Tudor.
The family of the Viscount Gort then bought the property and it was in their possession until 1934. Then came World War Two and the the castle was taken over by the War Office. It remained in government hands but it was neglected after the war and deteriorated and became a hazard. It was demolished in 1963 to make way for modern developments including a housing estate and shops.
Interestingly, there is a replica of the castle in Count Galway in Ireland.